The Office of Facilities Management at Morehead State University is constantly improving campus. We want to share our progress with students, employees and the communities in our service region. Much More Progress is a great source of information on campus closings, construction and other information that affects campus infrastructure.
A building that all are familiar with, is the Adron Doran University Center, or as most know it, “ADUC.”
As the building
undergoes a renovation and expansion, we can reflect on what this multi-purpose
facility has provided for MSU and what it will offer generations to come.
Built in 1956 on the site of the first campus
building, this three-story building has already been expanded two previous
times; once in 1969 and once in 2005.
ADUC was originally known as the Doran Student House, and was named in
honor of Dr. Adron Doran, the seventh president of the University, who served
from 1954 to 1977.
23-year tenure as President of Morehead State University, Dr. Adron Doran
brought the former state college to university status and oversaw a building
program that changed the skyline of the Rowan County town that gave its name to
President in 1954, retiring in 1977 with the title of President Emeritus. From
1952-54, he had been secretary of the Kentucky Council on Public Higher
Education and director of the Division of Teacher Education and Certification
for the Kentucky State Department of Education. For a year previous he had been
visiting professor of education at the University of Georgia.
Doran also was a minister of the Church of Christ, and was elected to
the Kentucky House of Representatives four times (1943-51). He was Speaker of
the House from 1950 to 1951. He was a member of the Kentucky Legislative
Research Commission (1943-44 and 1950-51), a participant in the White House
Conference on Education of the Disadvantaged in 1966, the White House
Conference on Education, 1955 and 1965, and Chairman of the N.E.A. Legislative
Commission in 1966.
ADUC has been home to numerous student operations,
including the offices of Student Success, Student Government Association, Student
Programming Board, Disability Services, Multicultural Student Services,
Conference Services, Student Activities and Greek Life, and the Office of
University Outreach. It has also housed
the University Post Office, the University Bookstore, and various meeting
Dining services were located on
the second floor with Aramark, Starbucks, Taco Bell, catering, and more.
With the newest renovation and expansion to the ADUC, the facility will nearly double in size over a 22-month
period. The project will increase student
services and amenities on campus with more restaurant-style accommodations,
extended hours, and a modern atmosphere for students to collaborate and have a
truly invaluable experience while at MSU.
Once it re-opens, ADUC will provide a theater to serve
for orientation of new students and a space for current students to use for
events and meetings. A sports pub and
tech lounge will offer new experiences that students can incorporate into their
college experience. There will be
multiple dining lounges for students and expanded eatery options. These include
a Steak ‘n’ Shake, Which Which, Moe’s, a coffee lounge, and a Brick Oven Pizza
Parlor – adding to the several already favorite options offered by
A Business Center, Admissions and Welcome Center, Card
Services, and an expanded space for student life and activities will make this
facility better than anything MSU has offered.
The addition to ADUC will also create an outdoor area
for students to gather, highlighting the beauty of the geographic location in
the heart of Daniel Boone National Forrest.
This is the first step in creating a “Great Lawn” area that will provide
a pedestrian friendly campus.
MSU is offering much more in terms of student and
faculty experience with facilities improvements that are turning our campus
into one that is truly state-of-the-art.
The excitement for this expansion project is most definitely obvious and
will only draw more anticipation with progress.
Stay tuned for all the updates!
As we continue our look back in the history of
Morehead State University facilities, we now examine a building that sits on
the original crescent of University Boulevard.
Rader Hall, built in 1925 is a
three-story classroom and office building that houses the office of the Dean of
the Caudill College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences; Department of
History, Philosophy and Religion; Department of Sociology, Social Work and
Criminology; and the Exelbirt Seminar Room.
This historic building, named after former faculty member and administrator Dr.
Clifford Rader, was renovated and expanded in 1970. The renovation included the removal of the
original exterior and imposed a complete facelift of the facility to bring it
into that decade.
Originally, Rader Hall was simply known as the
administrative building, housing administrative offices up until the completion
of the Howell-McDowell Building constructed just across the street in
1963. After administrative purposes were
relocated, the old administrative building was directed for re-design to house
the Social Sciences. At the time, Dr.
Clifford Rader was the Divisional Chairman and passed away shortly after. In his honor, the former administrative
building was to be named “Rader Hall.”
According to Dr. C. Nelson Grote, “Dr. Rader was not
only a professional person, he was also a fine craftsman. He made steel knives, which he gave to his
dinner guests, and he also was a musician and played the banjo.”
Years after his death, his wife donated two of his
instruments to MSU including a crafted banjo with ivory inlays and carvings. Not only is Dr. Rader honored through name of
the building, but he is forever enshrined on the memorial plaza in the center
of campus for his 17 years of faithful service to Morehead State University.
It is unreal the history that lies in the brick that
houses our education. With a little bit
of atmospheric understanding, appreciation and pride can exponentially rise for
students here at MSU.